September Full Corn Moon 2017

The September full Moon, often referred to as the "Harvest Moon", traditionally corresponds with the time of harvesting farm to table edibles previously planted in Spring.  However, this year is a little different...

This year, the Harvest Moon will occur in October thus, the September Full Moon is called a "Full Corn Moon."   Why, you may ask?  Typically, the Harvest Moon is the Moon that falls nearest the autumnal equinox and provides the most light at Harvest time.  The autumnal equinox, or first day of Fall, arrives on Friday, September 22nd.  Technically, however, the moonrise for the September 2017 and October 2017 full Moons are occurring very close together this year. For several days both full Moons will rise a shorter-than-usual time after sunset, creating more light during this year's harvest time. During both months, the Moon will hang large, in the eastern sky. after sunset casting their bright light on our fields ripe for harvest as well as our very own backyards.

According to http://earthsky.org,"The moon turns precisely full on September 6, 2017, at 7:03 UTC. At North American time zones, that translates to 4:03 a.m. ADT, 3:03 a.m. EDT, 2:03 a.m. CDT, 1:03 a.m. MDT, 12:03 a.m. PDT – and on September 5, at 11:03 p.m. ADKT and 9:03 p.m. HST."

cornmoon2

  • Other traditional September Full Moon names used by Native Americans include:
    “Moon When the Plums Are Scarlet” by the Lakota Sioux Native Americans.
    “Moon When the Deer Paw the Earth” by the Omaha Native Americans.
    “Moon When the Calves Grow Hair” by the Sioux Native Americans
  • Here are Moon phase dates and times (ET).
    Full Moon: September 6, 3:04 A.M.
    Last Quarter: September 13, 2:26 A.M.
    New Moon: September 16, 1:30 A.M.
    First Quarter: September 27, 10:55 P.M.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *